July 5
9:00 am

Grand Parade

  • July 5
  • 9:00 am
  • University Avenue

    and Center Street


  • Free
Follow Us
The Largest in Utah
Join us on July 5 at 9am for the Grand Parade – the largest of its kind in the state of Utah – highlighting freedom through bands, professionally crafted floats, giant helium balloons, and local and national performers. Entries will be given the unique challenge to promote patriotism and traditional family values to around 300,000 spectators, through music, displays, dance, and other creative and meaningful expression. The parade will follow a slightly different rout this year. It begins at 960 N. University Ave. and proceeds south to 200 S. and then turns east to 200 E. From there it turns north to Center St. and then turns east and ends at 900 E.
Terry Kennard -
Parade Entries: Tara Catmull -
Follow Us
Vendors & Volunteers

Click here to apply to be a parade vendor.

Click here to volunteer to help with the parade.

Parade Entry Theme and Rules

The theme for parade entries should be based on America’s Freedom Festival mission statement, “To celebrate, teach, honor, and strengthen the traditional American values of God, family, freedom and country”. Please submit application online. See link the upper right corner of this page.

To see the Parade Rules click here: PARADE RULES

Parade Route Map


Downtown Parking Map Jan 2019

2021 Parade Grand Marshall

Governor Gary Herbert and Jeanette Herbert

Bleacher Seats

1st day sales of Reserved bleacher seats for the Grand Parade are on June 4, 2021 from 10am-2pm at the Utah Valley Convention and Visitors Bureau, 220 West Center St, STE 100, Provo, for 1 day only.  After June 4th, tickets will be sold at the Freedom Festival offices 4626 N 300 W, Provo, UT 84604 from June 5th, 2021 until tickets are sold out.  Call 801-818-1776 for information.


Parade Spectator Rules

Spectators may “stake out” their claim to a spot along University Avenue no earlier than July 4, at 3:00pm per Provo City Ordinance. All other portions of the parade route can not be claimed or reserved until July 5, at 5:00am.

This includes trying to “reserve or occupy, or attempt to claim, reserve or occupy, either in person or by the placement of ropes, tents, chairs, sleeping bags, blankets, or other devices or barriers, any public property as a position for observing [the] public parade” (SECTION 9.14.220).

All motor vehicles located on the parade route must be moved prior to 8:00pm on July 4 or “shall be considered a public nuisance and may be towed from the public street”.

Please note that in order to reserve a spot on the parade route at least one person must be present. Any items left unattended may be moved.

Portable toilets will be located every other block along the parade route.

A Special Thank you

We recognize the efforts and sacrifices made by the hundreds of volunteers and their families who have worked to bring you this year’s Grand Parade, but would like to draw special attention to these dedicated individuals who serve as members of America’s Freedom Festival Grand Parade Committee and who have sacrificed their time in your behalf throughout the entire year to bring you one of the nations greatest parades.

Announcers- Steve Rogers
Automobiles – Mark Jackson
Automobiles- Neely Walters
Automobiles- Adam Koenenman
Balloons Chair- Oscar Mink
Bands – Nancy Cannon
Bleacher chair – Courtney Kennard
Bleachers – Cindy Kennard
Dignitaries – Richard Williams
Dignitaries- Ernest Muirhead
Dignitaries- Ernie Perry
Equestrian Entries – Wally Breitenstein
Equestrian Entries – Kelly Roundy
Exec. Assist. – Applications Chair Tara Catmull
Judging / Awards – Mike Casperson

Military Entries – Vernon Stout
Parade Chair – Terry Kennard
Parade Operations – Oscar Mink
Publicity – Dorene Nelson
Radio Comm. – Coordinator Jeremy Stallard
Radio Communications vice chair- Mark Ellingson
Signs/Banners/Outwalkers – Joe Goff
Signs/Banners/Outwalkers – Sherrie Goff
Vending – Dallas Harken
Vending Asst. – Whitney Harken
VIP Catering – Carli Sorenson
Volunteer Chair – Oscar Mink
BYU Police Liaison – Wade Raab
Provo Ch17 Liaison – Brett Borget
Provo City Fire Liaison – Lynn Schofield
Provo City Liaison – Scott Henderson
Provo City Sanitation – Bryce Rolph
Provo City Police Liaison – Jeff Lougee
Provo City Police Liaison Asst. – Shilo Harris
Provo City Emergency Manager- Chris Blinzinger

Don't Miss

Balloon Fest


July 2


6:00 am

Fox field

1100 N Freedom Blvd, Provo

Freedom Days


July 2


Center Street, Provo

Freedom Run


July 5


7:00 am

Kiwanis park


Event Sponsors

Search Freedom Festival